Lighten Up: 3 Ways to Bring Out the Blonde

27 Jul

To know me is to know that I love changing my hair color. From salon highlights to DIY drugstore escapades, I’ve tried it all. Amid my summer-inspired blonder and blonder phase, John Frieda’s Go Blonder and highlight-enhancing shampoos looked tempting. Could we have advanced enough from Sun-In for a product to be capable of lightening sans brassiness? With brand-new highlights I felt too much trepidation to try this one out, but after reading a tip from LA-colorist Lorri Goddard-Clark in August’s Marie Claire, I decided to “enlighten” myself.

Lemon Slices in Water

via vi.sualize.us

Goddard-Clark’s recipe for resuscitating blond hues involves mixing baby shampoo with baking soda, running the mixture through your hair and sitting with a cap on under the sun to allow the heat to essentially remove yellow and green deposits.

Baking soda? This is new (to me). And Frieda’s shampoo is infused with chamomile, which I learned from LUSH, gradually lightens and brightens — and naturally.

Which leaves us to lemon, which will lighten, but for the sake of your hair’s texture and hydration, is probably best used cut with water. Diluted, you can use it as a rinse. I was surprised to see lots of new ways to lift your locks with lemon in this post, Home Remedies to Lighten Hair.

Have you lightened your hair at home? What worked? What didn’t?

Leave a Reply

