Goodbye Splenda, it was sweet… sorta

4 Dec

My friend Meaghan is a go-to on all obscure healthy living gotta-knows. She’d been telling me about Splenda’s dark side for years and I was too dense and latte’d up to let the warnings sink in. Fast forward to this week, and really the past year or so, of pseudo-arthritic pain that neither exercise nor chiropractic hands (uh, yeah — I know) can give the boot to. I made honest attempts at both treatment options but to no avail. I also probably dashed a bit more Splenda into my coffee on the really painful days (the twisted equivalent of bringing a sick friend chicken noodle). I thought I was comforting myself.

Sugar Building Blocks

via designyoutrust.com/2008/10/16/spiceship

Now, neck pain has creeped its way into my wrists and ankles. At first I thought, RESTLESS LEGS! Of course it was RLS, that‘s why I jump out of bed 2-3 times a night! I used to say carpal tunnel, but only to justify an off day online. After poking around yesterday (keywords: sore wrists and ankles) I found a forum on Splenda side effects that made me sour toward the idea of ever touching those little yellow packets of chlorinated sucralose.

So, adieu and adios swimming pool sweetener. I think I’ll give natural sugar a try, or begin looking into Truvia a bit more. My editor friends will understand how silly I feel for skipping past the trusty fact checker search term combo of KEYWORD + DANGER. Perhaps if I had done that a year ago I would have saved myself the aches.

2 Responses to “Goodbye Splenda, it was sweet… sorta”

  1. Liz December 4, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    DANGER! I had a friend who stopped using Splenda and her splitting migranes she had for 2 years vanished!

  2. amyzonline December 4, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    I don’t know why it took me this long to figure it out. I hope abstaining makes me feel better!

Leave a Reply

